Regulated Restrictive Practices Guide

This guide explains what a restrictive practice is, and sets out information on the five types of regulated restrictive practices, being:

  • chemical restraint
  • environmental restraint
  • mechanical restraint
  • physical restraint
  • seclusion

It assists in identifying each regulated restrictive practice and provides practice advice consistent with a positive behaviour support framework  and contemporary evidence informed practice, intended to reduce and eliminate the use of restrictive practices. It also highlights the possible impacts and important consideration with the use of regulated restrictive practices and assists registered NDIS providers and NDIS behaviour support practitioners to meet their obligations under the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (NDIS Act 2013) and relevant Rules.

An Easy Read version of the practice guide is also available.